يعتمد مستقبل التجارة على التمويل التجاري والبنية التحتية العالمية

لن يكون تمكين التجارة ممكناً دون توافر التمويل والبنية التحتية. ومع ذلك، يتجاهل الكثيرون هذا القطاع، وتؤدي المفاهيم الخاطئة بشأن مخاطر الاستثمار مقترنةً بالضغوط التنظيمية إلى انخفاض توقعات الاستثمار.

قد تتمثل الحلول الممكنة لذلك في تمكين الاستثمارات في رأس المال الخاص من التخصص في استثمارات البنية التحتية. ولكن هذا يتطلب مزيداً من التنسيق مع الحكومة والابتكار المستمر في تخطيط البنية التحتية وتطويرها.

نقص الاستثمار في البنية التحتية

ومع ذلك، فإن الكثير من هذه الصناديق لا تستثمر في البنية التحتية.ويرجع ذلك إلى كثرة الفرص الاستثمارية الموجودة، وعدم توافر المنتجات المالية القابلة للتسويق، فضلاً عن تاريخٍ يتسم بالإخفاق والفضائح والفساد.

تأثير جائحة كوفيد-19 على التمويل التجاري

في ظل عدم اليقين الذي أحدثته جائحة كوفيد-19 فيما يتعلق بالتجارة والأنشطة عبر الحدود، زادت أحجام المخاطر التي تعيّنها البنوك التجارية للتمويل التجاري. فمنذ تفشي الجائحة، عانت تجارة السلع الأساسية من انخفاض في الحجم وخسائر مرتفعة في القروض. وانخفضت إيرادات التمويل التجاري للسلع الأساسية لدى البنوك عالمياً بنسبة 40% سنوياً في الربع الثاني من عام 2020. أعلن بنك إيه بي إن أمرو، أحد ممولي تجارة السلع الأساسية الأكثر نشاطاً في العالم، أنه سيتوقف عن تمويل جميع السلع الأساسية.

أظهرت دراسة حديثة (أبريل 2020)، أُجري خلالها استبيانٌ لنحو 700 مسؤول تنفيذي في شركات متوسطة إلى كبيرة الحجم في المملكة المتحدة والولايات المتحدة الأمريكية والصين، أن أكثر من 80% كانوا يفكرون في التحول من بنوك تقليدية إلى جهات إقراض بديلة لتوفير التمويل التجاري.

العوائق الفريدة في التمويل التجاري

كما هو الحال في معظم القطاعات عبر البلدان، تنطوي التجارة على مجموعة كبيرة من المتطلبات التنظيمية. وقد ثبت أن هذا يشكّل عائقاً كبيراً؛ ومع ذلك، هناك الكثير من العوائق الأخرى.

المخاطر المتصورة

في الواقع، تُعد مخاطر عدم الوفاء في معاملات التمويل التجاري صغيرة، إذ تبلغ بوجه عام حوالي 0.2% في المتوسط على مستوى العالم، مع اختلاف بسيط عبر البلدان، إلا أن الكثيرين لا يزالون يعتقدون أنه استثمار محفوف بالمخاطر.

توافر منتجات التمويل

نظراً لتراجع العلاقات المصرفية للشبكة والعلاقات المصرفية الدولية بجانب وجود الاستراتيجية الأكثر تجنباً للمخاطر التي تتبعها العديد من المؤسسات المالية اليوم، فقد انخفضت إمكانية الوصول عموماً إلى منتجات التمويل التجاري خلال العقد الماضي.

التطبيق التنافسي

يتم رفض 60% من طلبات التمويل التجاري المقدمة من الشركات الصغيرة والمتوسطة، مقارنةً بنسبة 7% فقط من الطلبات المقدمة من الشركات متعددة الجنسيات. وتشير بعض التقديرات إلى أن 75% من إجمالي عمليات رفض التمويل التجاري تتعلق بالشركات الصغيرة والمتوسطة.

التكنولوجيا تسبب التغيير الهيكلي

يمكن أن يستفيد التمويل التجاري بشكل كبير من التطورات التكنولوجية التي قد تسبب تغييراً هيكلياً في القطاع.

الذكاء الاصطناعي

يُتيح الذكاء الاصطناعي تقليل العوائق التي تواجه الشركات الصغيرة فيما يتعلق بالتمويل. وتُعد العملية الحالية لفحص درجة الائتمان والتدقيق الأمني غير كافية لاتخاذ قرارات مستنيرة بالنسبة للشركات الأصغر حجماً. ومن خلال استخدام الذكاء الاصطناعي والأبحاث المنهجية، يمكن للنظام أن يأتي بقراراتٍ أفضل لجميع العملاء.

تكنولوجيا البلوك تشين

تنطوي تكنولوجيا البلوك تشين على إمكانية إنشاء منظومة سلسة وغير ورقية وشفافة وآمنة للتجارة. ويمكن أن يساعد ذلك في خفض التكاليف مما يُتيح للشركات الأصغر حجماً الدخول في القطاع وكذلك زيادة الكفاءة.

البيانات الضخمة

تساعد البيانات الضخمة على زيادة الكفاءة في التمويل التجاري. ويمكن أن يؤدي التنفيذ البسيط للتعرف البصري على الحروف (OCR) الذي يحول النص من الوثائق التجارية إلى صيغةٍ رقمية إلى زيادة الكفاءة بنسبة 50% من خلال القضاء على الحاجة إلى استخدام المشغلين البشريين.

التوصيات

الأعمال

  • تيسير الوصول إلى التكنولوجيا لإدارة العبء التنظيمي وتعزيز توافر منتجات التمويل التجاري خاصةً للشركات الصغيرة
    والمتوسطة.
  • إقامة الشراكات مع شركات التكنولوجيا المالية الصغيرة والجهات الفاعلة المحلية لتوفير التمويل لمجموعات أكبر من التجار
  • العمل مع مؤسسات التمويل الإنمائي والحكومات لدمج التمويل الخاص في نظام الإنفاق على البنية التحتية.
  • التعاون بشكل أكبر مع منظمات القطاع الخاص الأخرى بشأن الأُطُر التنظيمية.

الحكومة

  • تمكين رأس المال الخاص في مشاريع البنية التحتية العامة من خلال ضمان سهولة وصول المستثمرين من القطاع الخاص.
  • العمل مع القطاع الخاص لبناء أطر تنظيمية شاملة.
  • تبسيط أُطُر عمل الامتثال لتشجيع مشاركة القطاع الخاص بشكل أكبر في مجال التمويل التجاري
  • إقامة حجة أقوى لدى الشركات بشأن المخاطر المنخفضة للاستثمار في البنية التحتية.

تنزيل تقرير مستقبل التجارة

The Future of Trade Relies on Global Trade Finance and Infrastructure

The enabling of trade and would not be possible without financing and infrastructure. However, this sector is overlooked by many and misconceptions regarding investment risk paired with regulatory pressures drive down prospects of investments.

Possible solutions for this would be by enabling investments into private capital to specialise in infrastructure investments. This, however, requires further coordination with the government and continuous innovation in infrastructure planning and development.

The Lack of Investment in Infrastructure

Yet many of these funds do not invest in infrastructure. This is due to the plethora of investment opportunities that are present, the lack of availability of marketable financial products as well as a history of failure, scandals and corruption.

COVID-19’s Effect on Trade Financing

With the uncertainty the COVID-19 pandemic brought onto trade and cross-border activities, the risk profiles commercial banks place onto trade financing has increased. Since the pandemic, commodity trading has suffered from low volume and high loan losses. Trade commodity finance revenues for banks globally dropped 40% year-on-year in the second quarter of 2020. ABN Amro, one of the world’s most active commodity trading financiers, announced that they would discontinue all commodity financing.

A recent study (April 2020) surveying 700 executives at medium to large-sized businesses in the UK, the US, and China found that over 80% were considering switching from traditional banks to alternative lenders for trade finance.

Unique Barriers in Trade Financing

As with most cross-country industries, trade comes with a plethora of regulatory requirements. This proves to be a significant barrier; however, many more exist.

Perceived Risk

In reality, the risk of default in trade finance transactions is small. Generally at around 0.2% on average globally, with little variation across countries, however many still believe it as a risky investment.

Financing Product Availability

Given the decline in network banking and international banking relationships, combined with the more risk-averse strategy pursued by many financial institutions today, overall access to trade finance products has decreased over the last decade.

Competitive Application

60% of trade finance requests by SMEs are rejected, compared to only 7% of requests by multinational companies. Some estimates suggest that 75% of all trade finance rejections relate to SMEs.

Technology to cause structural change

Trade financing could greatly benefit from technological advances which may cause structural change within the industry.

Artificial Intelligence

AI enables the reduction of barriers between small businesses to financing. The current credit-score checking and background check is insufficient to make informed decisions for smaller companies. With AI and systemic research, the system can come with a better decision for all clients.

Blockchain

Blockchain has the potential to create a seamless, paperless, transparent, and safe ecosystem for trade. This can help drive down costs which introduce smaller businesses to come into the industry as well as increase efficiency.

Big Data

Big data helps increase efficiency for trade financing. A simple implementation of optical character recognition (OCR) which converts text from trade documents to digital, can increase efficiency by 50% by eliminating the use of human operators.

Recommendations

Business

  • Streamline access to technology to manage the regulatory burden and boost the availability of trade finance products especially for SMEs.
  • Partner with small fintechs and local players to get finance to wider groups of traders.
  • Work with DFIs and governments to get private finance into the system for infrastructure spending.
  • Cooperate further with other private sector organisations on regulatory frameworks.

Government

  • Enable private capital into public infrastructure projects by ensuring ease of access for private investors.
  • Work with the private sector to build inclusive regulatory frameworks.
  • Streamline compliance frameworks to encourage greater private sector involvement in trade finance.
  • Make a stronger case for businesses on the low risk of investment in infrastructure.

Download Your Future of Trade Report