双刃剑:科技的潜力与衰败

由于科技进步具有提高效率和开辟新市场的潜力,对贸易的前景影响是积极正面的。人工智能(AI) 与区块链等科技将会决定贸易的未来,因为这些科技的进步可以极大地改善不同行业的供给,促进低价格高产出。因此,波士顿咨询公司亨德森智库 (BCG’s Henderson Institute) 估计,“数字化”贸易总额高达8000亿至1.5万亿美元。

但是,科技对贸易也造成威胁。因为某些科技会破坏目前的生产和贸易模式——缩短了供应链使得各国拥有更大的自主权。科技的净效应可使贸易额降至仅4000亿美元。

然而,政府官员可通过实施国内政策来避开威胁,转而利用科技,将这种威胁降到最低。

对未来而言,决策者来减少科技所带来的威胁是不可或缺的。随着科技贸易(特别是跨境数据传输)政策的非标准化和持续收紧,将会出现经济碎片化,这可能会切断国与国之间的服务贸易。

利用人工智能提高
效率

人工智能为未来的贸易带来更高的效率和更低的成本。随着人工智能的逐步实施,从无人驾驶汽车、机器人、物联网传感器在物流链从发货人到收货人的各个步骤的实施,贸易的效率也有望加快。

在物流链内可以实行的自动化包括自主船舶、陆地车辆、送货(无人机)、物流管理、港口和仓库。以下表格说明了人工智能对不同行业的潜在影响。

船舶

“无人值守“的货船能减少6% 的燃料消耗,以及减少5% 的建筑成本。

陆地车辆

自动化有可能将成本降低45%。

无人机送货

自动无人机送货的运营成本比货车低70%。

物流管理

随着自动化的发展,物流成本会下降40%。

港口

预测船舶到达港口可减少最多20%的等待时间。

仓库

到2023年,高达65%的仓储业务将通过数据分析实现自动化,可以增加20%的储货量。

电子商务:
全球贸易的主动力

2019至2020年,全球零售市场增长了4.5%,电子商务市场增长了18%。电子商务改变了零售业的规则,也刺激了国家间的贸易,因为它提高了贸易的便利性和实用性。我们的报告也发现了电子商务从西方向东方的转移。

区块链提高合规性

在贸易行业利用区块链不但可以降低成本,而且可以为全球更多的玩家打开市场。随着物联网传感器和区块链技术的使用,智能计费可以大大简化贸易中所需要的文件。

智能计费利用区块链,能够轻松复制昂贵且繁复的提货单。首次使用智能票据系统只需15美金,比起平均发布和处理这个过程的成本减少了90%。这使降低成本成为可能,并允许小企业和出口商参与竞争。

DMCC 的行业数字化指数

随着更多公司依靠科技进行日常运营,衡量各部门科技使用的增长是很重要的,以跟踪不同行业数字化的程度和基准。 DMCC的行业数字化指数(IDI)是由数字化的四种不同功能来衡量:上游供应链、下游供应链、生产阶段和数字基础设施。

数字化中的四种不同功能有着很大的差异。数据基础设施(78/100分)在各行业中数字化程度分数高很多,而下游供应链(22/100分)似乎是最不数字化的。

建议

企业

  • 在科技上作出投资,以降低贸易成本和提高效率。
  • 利用具竞争力的新数字化平台,促进贸易和开拓新市场。
  • 率先推动国内监管的改革,允许实施促进贸易的科技,例如接受电子贸易文件、区块链等。
  • 协助制定关于交互操作性、数据和其他贸易与科技方面的国际协定和标准。

政府

  • 与企业合作,找出可以透过科技消除的贸易障碍,并接受必要的改革,让科技促进贸易。
  • 优先投资在数字基础建设和数字技术的发展,以推动2020年后贸易和经济增长。
  • 投资于全体员工再培训,以减轻科技对经济的负面影响,特别是对就业的影响。
  • 在国际层面上,就数据和电子商务进行合作,这对今后十年的全球贸易至关重要。

下载贸易的未来报告

Cutting Both Ways: The Potential and Downfalls of Technology

Technological improvements have the potential to increase efficiency and open up new markets. Technologies such as artificial intelligence (AI) and blockchain will impact the future of trade as these advancements can vastly improve the aggregate supply for many industries, promoting lower prices and higher output. Because of this, BCG’s Henderson Institute estimates that in total ‘digitally enabled’ trade is worth between US$800 billion and US$1.5 trillion.

However, technology also poses a threat to trade as some technologies may disrupt current patterns of production and trade – shortening supply chains and creating greater autonomy between individual countries. The net effect of technology could reduce the value of trade down to only US$400 billion.

This threat can be minimised, however, by the implementation of domestic policies by government officials to draw away from the threat and instead take advantage of technology.

The role of policymakers to minimise the threat technology brings will be integral towards the future. With a non-standardized and continuously tightening policies regarding technological trade (specifically in cross-border data transfer), comes a future of fragmented economies that may close off the trade of services between countries.

Increasing Efficiency with Artificial Intelligence

Artificial intelligence will lead the way in cutting costs and increasing efficiency. With the implementation of autonomous vehicles, robotics, IoT sensors within different steps of the process along the logistic chain from shipper to recipient, expect a significant increase in efficiency as AI is being implemented gradually. 

Some examples of trade-specific implementation within the logistic chain include autonomous ships, land vehicles, drone delivery, logistic management, ports, and warehouses. 

Ships

The ‘unmanning’ of cargo ships could see a 6% reduction in fuel consumption alone, as well as a 5% reduction in construction costs.

Land Vehicle

Autonomy has the potential to reduce costs by 45%.

Drone Delivery

The operation costs of autonomous drones delivering parcels are 70% lower than van delivery.

Logistic Management

As automation progresses, logistics costs may fall by up to 40%.

Ports

Platforms to predict ship arrival at port can reduce waiting times by up to 20%.

Warehouses

By 2023, up to 65% of warehousing will be automated paired with data analytics that could increase capacity by 20%.

E-commerce:
The Main Driver of Global Trade

From 2019 to 2020, the global retail market grew by 4.5%, whilst the e-commerce market grew by 18%. E-commerce is a game-changer for the retail industry and also stimulates trade between countries as it promotes convenience and availability. Our report also found the shift of e-commerce from the West and the East.

Blockchain to Improve Compliance

There is a potential for blockchain to be utilised within the trade industry that could not only drop costs but could open up the market to more players worldwide. With the use of IoT sensors and blockchain technology, documents that are crucial in trade would be vastly simplified and discounted with the use of smart billing.

Smart billing utilising blockchain is capable of replicating the bill of lading which is typically expensive and troublesome. The first use of the smart bill system only costs USD $15, a reduction of 90% on the average total cost of issuing and handling this process. This opens up the possibility of cost reductions and allows smaller businesses and exporters to compete.

DMCC Industry Digitalisation Index

With more and more companies relying on technology for day-to-day operations, it is important to measure the growing use of technology within sectors to have an overview and a benchmark to track the change of digitalisation across different industries. DMCC’s Industry Digitalisation Index (IDI) is measured by taking into account four separate functions of digitisation, upstream supply chains, downstream supply chains, production, and digital infrastructure.

There seems to be a high variability between the four separate functions of digitalisation. Digital infrastructure (scoring 78 out of 100) is vastly more digitalised for industries across the board whilst downstream supply (scoring 22 out of 100) seems to be the least.

Recommendations

Business

  • Invest in technologies to reduce trade costs and increase efficiencies.
  • Take advantage of new, competitive, digital platforms that facilitate trade and open new markets.
  • Take the lead in driving domestic regulatory change to allow the implementation of technologies that facilitate trade e.g. acceptance of electronic trade documents, blockchain etc.
  • Contribute to the development of international agreements and standards on interoperability, data, and other aspects of trade and technology.

Government

  • Work with business to identify obstacles to trade that could be eliminated by technology and embrace the regulatory changes necessary to allow technology to facilitate trade.
  • Prioritise investments into digital infrastructure and digital skills development to drive trade and economic growth through the 2020s.
  • Invest in retraining and reskilling workforces to mitigate the negative impacts of technology on the economy and specifically on jobs.
  • Cooperate at the international level on data and e-commerce which will be essential to global trade in the next decade.

Download Your Future of Trade Report